Flesh vs. Spirit

And if I don’t want to I don’t have to

And I won’t.

Yeah, it sounds good to me,

But ice cream gives a good brain freeze.

You see, I don’t see how that could work.

I love the idea of it, and it’s pretty and it’s everything I could want in that

But, no, that’s not the easy way.

And I don’t want to have to work at this.

What do you want from me?

You have my heart, you know that.

Now you want me to share it?

Share it with an other?

With a he?

But you see, we were so gooood you and me.

SO good, blissful and free.

I found my childlikeness with you again

We ran together on the levee

To feel the train whip by us. Too feel.

I winked at you while I took photos of your sunrise in the clouds.

MINE. YOU’RE MINE.

Yours. I’m yours. You claimed me awhile ago.

You fastened my spirit to you from the outset.

And never let me go.

I’ve touched your face with my poetry, with my smile.

Now you want me to let another in?

To this?

Naw, but see, what we have is good…you and me.

And I can’t be away from you.

I refuse.

I have to have you.

I won’t let some guy sidetrack me.

Even if you’ve set him apart.

NO.

Okay Lord, it’s a battle you see.

One on one is what I know.

I’ll fight it out of insecurity…out of fear.

And out of devotion.

But if you tell me to go forth

If you tell me to trust.

Your word is my command.

Leave a Reply

